Cornell Wins 11th EIWA Title, Four Win Crowns
March 04, 2017


LEWISBURG, Pa. -- Cornell crowned four individual EIWA champions and the Big Red raised the team title for the 11th straight season and 25th time overall when the smoke cleared on Saturday afternoon at Bucknell's Sojka Pavilion. Sophomore Brandon Womack (165) and seniors Dylan Palacio (157), Brian Realbuto (174) and Gabe Dean (184) each earned a spot on top of the podium, while Mark Grey (133) and Ben Honis (197) joined them in punching their tickets to the 2017 NCAA Championships.

For Dean, it was the fourth straight year he won the 184-pound title, becoming the 11th wrestler overall and fifth Cornellian to take home four crowns. With the victories, the senior moves within two victories of setting the all-time Cornell record, as his 148 are two shy of Mack Lewnes. For his efforts, the Hodge Trophy candidate also came home with the Coaches Trophy for Outstanding Wrestler and the John FLetcher Memorial Trophy for most career points at EIWAs (96.5 points).