1978 National Championship Buffalo Team to be Honored at Friday's Dual Against Michigan State
SOURCE: ubbulls.com
December 06, 2017


BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo wrestling team will host Michigan State on Friday night at Alumni Arena. At halftime, the Bulls will honor members of the 1978 national championship team along with head coach Ed Michael. UB is celebrating the 40th anniversary of the school's lone team national championship.

Buffalo is 2-2 overall and 1-0 in the Mid-American Conference. The Bulls are coming off a 27-9 win over Ohio on November 25. UB was led by Kyle Akins and Joe Ariola who each pinned their opponent.

Michigan State lost its only dual of the season at Central Michigan, 31-9, on November 17. The Spartans have three wrestlers in the national rankings, including 133-pounder Austin Eicher who ranks 17th, 141-pounder Javier Gasca who ranks 18th and 174-pounder Drew Hughes who ranks 18th.

This will be the first meeting between Buffalo and Michigan State.

The University at Buffalo wrestling program won the 1978 national championship. For winning the NCAA Division III title, the entire 1977-78 squad and its coaching staff were inducted into the Dr. and Mrs. Edmond J. Gicewicz Family UB Athletics Hall of Fame in 1995. The Bulls placed six wrestlers on the podium en route to the title, including Mike Jacoutot, Kirk Anderson, Bruce Hadsell, Dave Mitchell, Jeff Wheeler and Paul Curka.