Alfred State's Van Valen Wins Title at Waynesburg
January 06, 2018


George Van Valen (Ithaca) led the Alfred State wrestling team with a 1st place finish at the Waynesburg Invitational.

Van Valen won his opening match by injury default and then pinned William Oberschelp (Washington & Jefferson) in 2:30 and Avery Jones (Thomas More) in 2:15 to reach the finals. In the finals he defeated Isaiah Watson-Kirksey (Mount Union) 16-0 to claim his third title of the season and improve to 16-0 on the year. Watson-Kirksey is now 15-4 on the year.

At 157 lbs. Mike Galton (Warsaw) was 3-2. He won a 9-1 decision over Marc Larson (Gettysburg) to open the day and then defeated Joshua Armstrong (Washington & Lee) 7-4. He fell in a tight 9-7 quarterfinal match to Michael McIntire (Mount Union) but rebounded to win 13-4 over Donnie Kerr (Penn State Behrend). His day came to an end in the 5th round of the consolation bracket when he fell 10-2 to Hunter Neely (Washington & Jefferson).

Ryan Mattison (Brockport) won two matches at heavyweight. He won a 3-1 decision over Cody Carr (Mount Union) and pinned Kyle Fitzgerald in 6:15.

The event featured wrestlers from 16 schools. The Pioneers finished 12th with 54.5 points. Mount Union won the team title with 206.5

The Pioneers scheduled to wrestle vs. Penn State DuBois on Wednesday evening at 7 p.m.