Bulls Suffer another Close Setback at Northern Illinois, 19-16
SOURCE: ubbulls.com
February 14, 2020


DEKALB, IL – It was another tough setback for a young University at Buffalo wrestling squad on Friday night as they dropped a dual at Northern Illinois, 19-16. The close loss spoiled some solid individual efforts by the Bulls.

After dropping a decision in the opening match, Derek Spann was dominant in a 13-0 major decision over Caleb Brooks at 133 to put the Bulls ahead 4-3. Spann improved to 14-2 in duals with the victory.

Marcus Robinson followed with his best effort of the season. The redshirt-freshman needed only 37 seconds to pin Anthony Gibson and extend the UB lead to 10-3. It was Robinson's first career pin in a MAC dual.

After an overtime loss at 149, Michael Petite earned a 7-5 decision at 157 to extend the UB lead to 13-6.

Troy Keller was upset at 165 by Izzak Olenik, but not without controversy. With Keller leading 3-2 in the closing seconds of the third, Olenik was awarded a stall point to tie the bout and send it to overtime. He earned a takedown in OT for the win and a big momentum swing for the Huskies.

NIU would win the next two matches to take a 16-13 lead.

At 197, Sam Schuyler earned a hard-fought 7-5 sudden victory over nationally-ranked Gage Braun. Schuyler's third-period takedown and riding time point forced overtime where Schuyler was able to get another takedown and the win.

It came down to 285, where NIU's Max Ihry was able to outlast Nolan Terrance, 3-2, in a second tiebreaker to give the Huskies the three-point victory.

"We battled again," head coach John Stutzman said. "We need to continue to learn to close out periods and matches. I really love this team's fight and I'm proud of their effort."

The Bulls will host their final home dual of the season next Friday against Binghamton.

125 – Bryce West (NIU) won by decision over Jordan Reyes (UB), 7-1
133 – #20 Derek Spann (UB) won by major decision over Caleb Brooks (NIU), 13-0
141 – Marcus Robinson (UB) won by fall over Anthony Gibson (NIU), 0:37
149 – McCoy Kent (NIU) won by sudden victory over John Arceri (UB), 6-4
157 – Michael Petite (UB) won by decision over Mason Kauffman (NIU), 7-5
165 – Izzak Olenik (NIU) won by sudden victory over Troy Keller (UB), 5-3
174 - Kenny Moore (NIU) won by decision over Bryson Alsteen (UB), 8-2
184 – Brit Wilson (UB) won by major decision over Pete Acciardi (UB), 9-1
197 – Sam Schuyler won by sudden victory over Gage Braun (NIU), 7-5
285 – Max Ihry (NIU) won by a tiebreaker-2 over Nolan Terrance (UB), 3-2