Cornell's Chas Tucker Named as Finalist for 2020 Dan Hodge Trophy
March 21, 2020


ITHACA, N.Y. – Senior Chas Tucker has been named as one of eight finalists for the Dan Hodge Trophy, presented by WIN Magazine (Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine) each year to the nation's most outstanding college wrestler. Big Red wrestling fans can vote for Tucker starting March 23, with the polls open through March 27.

Criteria for the award includes: A wrestler's record, the number of wins by fall, dominance on the mat, quality of competition, past credentials, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart.

The Official Hodge Fan Vote winner gets two first-place votes toward the final selection of the committee, made up of all former winners, national wrestling media, retired college coaches from each region and a representative of each national wrestling organization.

Tucker finished his senior campaign with a perfect 31-0 record, going 9-0 against opponents ranked in the FloWrestling Top 25. The Worcester, Mass. native was one of the toughest wrestlers to crack in the country this past season, surrendering just four takedowns over three bouts. Tucker is now one of four Big Red wrestlers all-time to finish a perfect season with 30 or more wins, joining Kyle Dake (2012-13: 37-0; 2011-12: 35-0), Nahshon Garrett (2015-16: 37-0) and Travis Lee (2002-03: 34-0). When extended to a season of 20 or more wins, the list includes Yianni Diakomihalis (2018-19: 29-0), Troy Nickerson (2008-09: 25-0) and Dave Auble (1958-59: 20-0).

A two-time EIWA Champion at 133 pounds and a three-time first team All-Ivy selection, Tucker concludes his Big Red career with an overall record of 82-18 (.820) and a dominance ranking of 2.220. Throughout his career, Tucker went 42-7 in dual matches, including a 15-0 mark against Ivy League competition.

Other finalists for the award include Iowa's Spencer Lee, Minnesota's Gable Steveson, Northwestern's Ryan Deakin, Princeton's Patrick Glory, Ohio State's Kollin Moore, West Virginia's Noah Adams and Stanford's Shane Griffith. Kyle Dake '13 is the lone Cornell wrestler to claim the trophy since it was first awarded in 1995. Other Big Red wrestlers that have been named finalists previously are Travis Lee (2003), Dake (2012), Nahshon Garrett (2016) and Yianni Diakomihalis (2019).

The winner of the 2020 Dan Hodge Trophy will be announced on Monday, March 30 at 1 p.m. ET.