Bulls Swept at Home by Edinboro and Central Michigan
SOURCE: ubbulls.com
February 07, 2021


BUFFALO, NY - It was a tough afternoon for the University at Buffalo wrestling team as they dropped a pair of duals to Edinboro and Central Michigan at Alumni Arena on Sunday. The Bulls lost to Edinboro, 21-15, and Central Michigan, 40-0.

After falling behind 8-0 after the first two matches against Edinboro, Derek Spann got the Bulls on the board with a 12-6 decision over Ryan Burgos at 141. Spann improved to 4-1 on the season with the win. Edinboro won the next match to take an 11-3 lead.

Michael Petite earned a 10-8 decision over Peter Pappas at 157 to cut the Edinboro lead to 11-6. Noah Grover followed with a third-period pin of Luke Sainato to give the Bulls a 12-11 lead. It was Grover's first pin of the season.

However, the Fighting Scots won the next three matches to take control of the dual. Sam Schuyler earned a 3-1 decision over John Spaulding in the final match of the dual.

In their second dual of the day, the Bulls dropped a 40-0 dual to #16 Central Michigan.

125 - Lucas Rodriguez (EU) won by decision over Tristan Daugherty (UB), 3-2
133 - Tye Varndell (EU) won by technical fall over Tommy Maddox (UB), 18-2 (6:43)
141 - Derek Spann (UB) won by decision over Ryan Burgos (EU), 12-6
149 - Tyler Vath (EU) won by decision over Ben Freeman (UB), 11-5
157 - Michael Petite (UB) won by decision over Peter Pappas (EU), 10-8
165 - Noah Grover (UB) won by fall over Luke Sainato (EU), 4:25
174 - Jacob Oliver (EU) won by major decision over Marcus Petite (UB), 13-1
184 - Ethan Ducca (EU) won by decision over Guiseppe Hoose (UB), 8-2
197 - Cody Mulligan (EU) won by decision over Sam Mitchell (UB), 2-0
285 - Sam Schuyler (UB) won by decision over John Spaulding (EU), 3-1

Extra Matches
125 - Logan Jaquay (EU) won by fall over Jordan Reyes (UB), 1:52
133 - Caleb Svingala (UB) won by decision over Richie Markulics (EU), 5-0
141 - Gabe Willochell (EU) won by major decision over Matt Ryan (UB), 9-1
157 - P.J. Gohn (EU) won by fall over Hunter Shaut (UB), 1:15
285 - Toby Cahill (UB) won by decision over Max Millin (EU), 5-4

125 - Drew Hildebrandt (CMU) won by major decision over Tristan Daugherty (EU), 12-4
133 - Drew Marten (CMU) won by technical fall over Caleb Svingala (UB), 16-0 (4:43)
141 - Dresden Simon (CMU) won by fall over Derek Spann (UB), 2:18
149 - Mason Breece won by major decision over Ty Raines (UB), 8-0
157 - Johnny Lovett (CMU) won by decision over Michael Petite (UB), 3-2
165 - Alex Cramer (CMU) won by decision over Noah Grover (UB), 6-4
174 - Jake Lowell (CMU) won major decision over Jake Lanning (UB), 12-3
184 - Ben Cushman (CMU) won by technical fall over Guiseppe Hoose (UB), 16-0
197 - Landon Pelham (CMU) won by decision over Sam Mitchell (UB), 10-4
285 - Matt Stencel (CMU) won by decision over Toby Cahill (UB), 10-4

Extra Matches
125 - Jimmy Ryan (UB) won by decision over Vince Perez (CMU), 8-7
133 - Brock Bergelin (CMU) won by fall over Tommy Maddox (UB), 1:16
157 - Tracy Hubbard (CMU) won by decision over Hunter Shaut (UB), 7-4
174 - Marcus Petite (UB) won by decision over Ryan Ringler (CMU), 4-3
184 - Adam Daghestani (UB) wins by fall over Sage Castillo (CMU), 5:16
285 - Cade Dallwitz (CMU) won by fall over Robbie Unruh (UB), 1:22