Section Five Wrestling Hall of Fame Induction Banquet
March 08, 2023




The 2023 Section 5 Wrestling Hall of Fame Banquet will be held at Red Fedele's Brook House on May 10, 2023. Names of the inductees will be added to the Hall of Fame Plaque located in the lobby of the Brook House. Since the Section 5 Wrestling Hall of Fame was started in 1994, 167 people have been inducted. Tickets are $45 per person and must be purchased by April 30. You can get more information by calling 585-750-1541 or at

Here are some brief comments about the inductees:

Bob Arao (Fairport) - Bob wrestled for Hall of Fame coach Pete Logan. He won numerous tournaments. He was Monroe County champion and NY State qualifier champion. He was 4th in the NY State Tournament in 1980. He was a 3 year starter at Cornell University and was 5th at the EIWA Tournament during his senior year. He competed at the Empire State Games where he was a Scholastic Division silver medalist in Freestyle and won a bronze medal in Open Freestyle, a gold medal in Open Division Greco Roman and 2 gold medals in Open Division Freestyle. After serving as varsity assistant coach at Fairport for 10 years he is currently the head wrestling coach.

Tim Borshoff (Irondequoit) - Tim wrestled for Hall of Fame coach Art "Bear" Connorton. He was a Monroe County and Section V champion. He graduated with honors from Binghamton University where he was SUNYAC champion, NY State Champion and a NCAA Division III runner-up. He was inducted into the Binghamton University Hall of Fame in 2001. Tim was involved with the Pittsford wrestling Club where he coached his sons Kyle, Jasen and Corey as well as many other notable Section V wrestlers. He joins his son Kyle who was inducted into the Section V Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2019.

Mike Fox (Official) - Mike has had a long wrestling career, starting as Avoca team manager at the age of 10, wrestling for 4 years on the varsity team and then helping to coach for 2 more years. He stated his officiating career in 1981 as a member of the West Central WOA where he was the #1 rated official in that chapter for 34 years. He later joined the WOA of Section V so he was able to work the entire Section V territory. During his career he worked 34 Section V Class tournaments 28 NY State Qualifiers and 15 NY State Tournaments.

Bill Hadsell (Canandaigua/Geneva/Section V) - Bill was an outstanding wrestler at Canandaigua Academy where he was Section 5 Class AA champion in 1979 and 1980. He was 4th at the NY Stee Tournament. A decade later, Bill was an NCAA Division III All-American at Ithaca College and named the schools Most Outstanding Wrestler in 1991. He was inducted into the Canandaigua Academy Sports Hall of Fame in 2010 and the Geneva Sports Halls of Fame in 2022. Bill coached at Pal-Mac and most recently at Geneva. He had numerous who placed in the NY State Wrestling Tournament including the Scott brothers from Pal Mac and Billy Payne from Geneva. Bill currently serves as the Section V Wresting Chairman.

Mike Nevinger (Letchworth) - Mike was an outstanding wrestler at Letchworth. He was a 5 time Livingston County champion and a 5 time Class Sectional champion from 2005 to 2009. During that time he was the Section 5 NY State Qualifier champion 4 times and runner up once. He was the NY State champion twice, winning titles in in 2006 and 2007. He also had second and third place finishes in the NY State Tournament. During his highs school career he won numerous invitational tournaments and was voted Outstanding Wrestler many times. He later competed at Cornell where he won the NY State Intercollegiate championships. Mike was an NCAA All American, winning 7th place in 2012 and 5th place in 2013.

Josh Patterson (Wayne) - Josh wrestled at Wayne Central under Hall of Fame Coach Scott Frieschlag. He won Class Sectionals (2003, 2005, 2006) and was runner up in 2004. He was a 2 time NY State Qualifier champion. He was second in the NY State Tournament in 2004, third in 2005 and won the NY State championship in 2006. He attended Binghamton University and during his junior year he led the entire country in both wins and pins and earned the award as the nation's "best pinner." Josh was the school's first 4 time Division 1 national qualifier. At the NCAA championships he won five matches to finish in seventh place. He was Binghamton's first Division 1 All American. He was inducted into the Binghamton University Hall of Fame in 2017.