Strong Senior Class Highlights 2023 Ilio DiPaolo Scholarship Fund Awards Night
May 24, 2023


An impressive group of wrestler student-athletes were recognized on Tuesday at Ilio DiPaolo's Restaurant in Blasdell at the annual Scholarship banquet.



Harrison Phillips #97 Award - Tommy Carlsen (Lancaster)
For one who exemplifies qualities in academics, commitment, community, and wrestling achievement

The Knuutila Family Award - Matt Caldwell (Starpoint)
For an individual who shows characteristics of an 'overachiever,' who is persistent, has experienced a setback, yet persevered and never stopped trying to achieve goals

The Cauliflower Alley Club Award - Luke Ventresca (St. Joseph's Collegiate)
Awarded to an outstanding student, outstanding wrestler, and outstanding leader

Bill Hein Dedicated Wrestling Award - Gwyneth and Meghan Edwards (Lew-Port)
For one who displays supreme love and commitment to the sport of wrestling

The "Destroyer" Wrestling Award - Jaden Crumpler (Niagara Falls)
Presented to an all-around 'hammer' amongst WNY high school wrestlers

Gary Castanza Award - Brady Heckathorn (Pioneer)
For an individual who is well rounded, community & family oriented, and high wrestling achievement

Ilio DiPaolo Award - Kenny Schmitz (Hamburg)
For a college bound senior who is an accomplished wrestler through dedication, skill, and sportsmanship while maintaining high scholastic and citizenship standards