NYSPHSAA Section V 53rd Annual Wrestling Championships and 32nd Annual State Qualifier
Wrestling Tournament
Edit this page on matburn®
February 26, 1999 - February 27, 1999 @ Fairport High School (Fairport, New York)


1999 NYSPHSAA Section V Wrestling Champions
FRONT ROW: Trevor Chinn (Canandaigua), Shawn Hibbs (Spencerport), Gary Borelli (Spencerport), Mike Smith (Hornell), Dave Hadden (Geneva), Zachariah Jones (Addison), Just Giffi (Webster), Mike Pagano (Greece Athena), Shamir Rhodes (Rush-Henrietta), Lucas Flint (Pavilion), Erich Steffens (Wayland-Cohocton), Michael Brown (Franklin), Jared Roy (Addison), Shaun Murray (Greece Athena), Dave Leitten (Warsaw). If you have a higher-resolution scan of this image, please send it to info@armdrag.com.

Varsity | Super Sectionals


Addison, Alexander, Alfred-Almond, Bolivar-Richburg, Brighton, Byron-Bergen, Campbell-Savona, Canandaigua, Dundee, East High (Rochester), East Irondequoit Eastridge, East Rochester, Franklin (Rochester), Gates Chili, Geneva, Greece Athena, Greece Olympia, Hilton, Holley, Hornell, Irondequoit, Le Roy, Lyndonville, Midlakes, Mynderse, Pavilion, Penfield, Perry, Pittsford, Rush-Henrietta, Spencerport, Victor, Warsaw, Waterloo, Wayland-Cohocton, Wayne, Webster

Outstanding Wrestler Award - Gary Borrelli (Spencerport)

Championship Final (1st)

 96  Trevor Chinn (Canandaigua) > Jeff Teike (Holley) decision 7-2
103  Shawn Hibbs (Spencerport) > Joe Veltre (GO) decision 8-2
112  Gary Borrelli (Spencerport) > Troy Forte (Pittsford) decision 5-3 (1OT)
119  Mike Smith (Hornell) > Bill Schell (Warsaw) decision 7-2
125  Dave Hadden (Geneva) > Bill Merle (Spencerport) decision 3-2
130  Zachariah Jones (Addison) > Mike Wojtowicz (Spencerport) decision 5-3
135  Justin Giffi (Webster) > Joe Scolaro (CS) decision 3-1
140  Mike Pagano (GA) > Mike Ellis (Mynderse) decision 11-6
145  Shamir Rhodes (RH) > Justin Hoch (Canandaigua) decision 4-2
152  Lucas Flint (Pavilion) > Geoff Selleck (RH) fall 5:16
160  Erich Steffens (WC) > Dan Chase (RH) decision 5-4
171  Michael Brown (FR) > Jason MacArtney (GC) fall 4:25
189  Jared Roy (Addison) > Dan Norstrand (LR) decision 4-2 (1OT)
215  Shaun Murray (GA) > Mike Latek (EIE) major decision 10-2
275  David Leitten (Warsaw) > Lucas Silversmith (Lyndonville) decision 11-4

Consolation Final (3rd)

 96  Gerry Fortuna (Dundee) > Peter Pagan (Wayne) decision 5-3
103  Brian Spaulding (CS) > Tim Sampsell (ER) fall 0:37
112  Kory Holland (Hornell) > Tim Page (WC) fall 3:28
119  Pat Beach (GO) > Jose Peo (Irondequoit) decision 6-2
125  Kristian Alexander (LR) > Jeff Collier (Penfield) decision 9-3
130  Chris Bala (Alexander) > Adam Slomski (Victor) decision 4-2
135  Joe Campopiano (Spencerport) > Earl Wolcott (Perry) decision 11-4
140  Matt Cannon (Webster) > Justin Sullivan (Hilton) decision 8-5
145  Jason Menzie (BB) > Josh Miller (Webster) decision 14-12
152  Joe DeFilippo (Webster) > Tremell Jones (EHR) decision 3-1
160  Nate Parmenter (Canandaigua) > Joe Ticconi (Waterloo) decision 1-0
171  Zach Lehmann (Brighton) > Donnie Moore (BR) decision 3-2
189  Brett Wilson (Lyndonville) > Tardus Taylor (RH) decision 5-4
215  Mark Aultman (AA) > Phil Congdon (Midlakes) fall 4:01
275  Brad Palmer (Webster) > John Smyth (GA) fall 2:39


Comments (NYSPHSAA Section V 53rd Annual Wrestling Championships and 32nd Annual State Qualifier)