These 7 Section V wrestlers won titles at New York State Championships
February 24, 2019


ALBANY - All of the wrestlers wore singlets which read Section V, but the number that counted the most for that team after the final day of the high school state championships was seven.

Greg Diakomihalis, Anthony Noto, Jace Schafer, Gregor McNeil, Alex Samson, Ryan Burgos and Sam DePrez won state titles Saturday inside the Times Union Center, located downtown in the state capital.

Most of the state champions wrestled at Hilton, a Section V-record four: Division I 113-pounder Diakomihalis, who became a four-time winner, McNeil at 99 pounds, Burgos at 126 and DePrez at 195.