RIT wrestling place a record 16 members on 2020 ECWC All-Academic Team
March 23, 2020


ROCHESTER, NY – A school record 16 members of the No. 18 RIT wrestling team earned 2019-20 Empire Collegiate Wrestling Conference All-Academic Team honors, as announced on Friday, March 20.

Seniors Owen Albanese (Canastota, NY/Canastota), Dempsey King (New Hartford, NY/New Hartford), Joe Lupisella (Webster, NY/Webster Schroeder), Cole Murphy (Syracuse, NY/Westhill), Isaiah Ocasio (Vineland, NJ/Vineland), Chris St. Denny (Bridgeport, NY/Cicero-North Syracuse), junior Jakob Warner (Wayland, MA/Wayland), sophomores Chris Horton (Athens, PA/Athens Area) and Ian Houck (Cottekill, NY/Rondout Valley) and freshmen Austin Bourgeois (Westfield, NY/Westfield Academy), Andrew DiBernardo (West Chester, PA/West Chester East), Colby Giroux (Richmond, VT/Mount Mansfield), Austin Lamb (Owego, NY/Tioga), Nate Osborne (Cicero, NY/Cicero-North Syracuse), James Ost (Sunnyvale, CA/Fremont) and Nathan Parker (Croton-on-Hudson, NY/Croton Harmon) were honored for RIT. Albanese and Warner were honored for the third time, while Horton, Houck, King, Lupisella, and St. Denny are two-time honorees.

Recipients of this honor must have a 3.30 cumulative grade-point average or higher (through the last eligible grading period of the current academic year), or have maintained a 3.30-or-better over the past two completed semesters. Wrestlers must also have competed in three separate events during the season in order to gain consideration. Freshmen and transfers that have been enrolled full-time for at least one semester are eligible to receive this honor.

RIT finished with an 8-3 record in dual meets. King, Kaidon Winters (Athens, PA/Athens Area), Sam Weinger (Blooming Grove, NY/Washingtonville), John Donohue (Smithtown, NY/Hauppauge) and Chris Horton (Athens, PA/Athens Area) each. qualified for the NCAA Division III Championship.