Oklahoma and Oklahoma State Share Big 12 Wrestling Crown
March 08, 2021


Oklahoma and Oklahoma State shared the 2021 Big 12 Wrestling Championship after securing 124 points each in the two-day event at the BOK Center.

In a rematch of last year's title bout at 141, Oklahoma's Dom Demas outlasted Iowa State's Ian Parker in a 4-3 in tiebreaker 2 to reclaim his title and earn the second in his career. The point total boosted the Sooners to 124 on the evening.

Behind by four points, it came down to Oklahoma State freshman AJ Ferrari at 174 pounds to give the Cowboys a tie for the title. He registered a 13-6 decision over Wyoming's Stephen Buchanan to pick up the crown and give OSU its ninth-consecutive and 18th Big 12 Championship title. The Sooners claimed their third title and first since 2002.

Ferrari was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler for the event, while Oklahoma coach Lou Rosselli was named Coach of the Year.