★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Meet History
NYSPHSAA Section V 47th Annual Wrestling Championships and 26th Annual State Qualifier
February 26, 1993 - February 27, 1993 @ Webster Schroeder Junior High School (Webster, New York)
Powered by matburn®


1993 NYSPHSAA Section V Wrestling Champions
BOTTOM ROW: Leo Urbanelli (Wayne), John Gemmell (Hornell), Brian Schaal (Alexander), Jason Barbera (Spencerport), Joe Barbera (Spencerport). MIDDLE ROW: Arkee Allen (Irondequoit), Brian Aparo (Victor), Steve Balsamo (Le Roy), Mike Pecorella (Greece Arcadia). BACK ROW: Jason Rucker (East Rochester), Sirrell Gissendanner (Spencerport), Dave Dennie (Palmyra-Macedon), Seth Thomas (Canandaigua), Jack Fisher, Jr. (Newark). Photo provided by 105-pound champ Brian Schaal. Click for larger image.

Varsity | Super Sectionals


Addison, Alexander, Alfred-Almond (+Arkport+Canaseraga), Attica, Avoca, Avon, Batavia, Batavia Notre Dame, Bath Haverling, Bishop Kearney, Bloomfield, Bolivar, Brighton, Brockport, Byron-Bergen, Caledonia-Mumford, Campbell-Savona, Canandaigua, Canisteo, Churchville-Chili, Dansville, Dundee, East High (Rochester), East Irondequoit Eastridge, East Rochester, Fairport, Fillmore, Franklin (Rochester), Gates Chili, Geneseo, Geneva, Greece Arcadia, Greece Athena, Greece Olympia, Hammondsport, Hilton, Holley, Honeoye Falls-Lima, Hornell, Irondequoit, Jasper-Troupsburg, Kendall, Keshequa, Le Roy, Letchworth, Livonia, Lyndonville, Lyons, Marcus Whitman, Marion, Marshall (Rochester), McQuaid Jesuit, Midlakes, Mynderse, Newark, North Rose-Wolcott, Palmyra-Macedon, Pavilion, Pembroke, Penfield, Penn Yan, Perry, Pittsford, Red Creek, Red Jacket, Rush-Henrietta, Sodus, South Seneca, Spencerport, Victor, Warsaw, Waterloo, Wayland, Wayne, Webster, Wellsville, Williamson, York

Outstanding Wrestler Award - Sirrell Gissendanner (Spencerport)

Championship Final (1st)

 91  Leo Urbanelli (Wayne) > Ryan Sciarretta (ER) decision 2-0
 98  John Gemmell (Hornell) > Ed Schafer (Wayne) decision 4-2 (1OT)
105  Brian Schaal (Alexander) > Dan Nier (GA) fall 3:20
112  Jason Barbera (Spencerport) > Ethan Sinnott (Brighton) decision 5-2
119  Joe Barbera (Spencerport) > Luke Buchholz (Wellsville) decision 6-0
126  Arkee Allen (Irondequoit) > Mike Swan (Wayland) decision 6-3
132  Brian Aparo (Victor) > Kevin Bulling (ER) decision 9-4
138  Steve Balsamo (LR) > Dave LaFrance (BB) decision 5-3 (1OT)
145  Mike Pecorella (GA) > Steve Swingle (Livonia) decision 9-8
155  Jason Rucker (ER) > Jason Solerek (Fairport) major decision 11-3
167  Sirrell Gissendanner (Spencerport) > Rob Taylor (Brockport) fall 2:51
177  Dave Dennie (PM) > Dave Yonts (PY) decision 9-2
215  Seth Thomas (Canandaigua) > Jody Forde (Waterloo) decision 3-0
250  Jack Fisher, Jr. (Newark) > Marc Drake (RH) major decision 9-0

Consolation Final (3rd)

 91  Jeremy Everett (Pembroke) > Chris Foster (CS) technical fall 21-5
 98  Milton Wolfer (Fillmore) > Earl Giraulo (Irondequoit) decision 7-4
105  Rodney Frey (ER) > Stace Buckland (Lyndonville) major decision 14-3
112  Greg Roberts (PM) > Ken Shaffer (Victor) decision 7-1
119  Jason Inch (Victor) > Mike Burgess (Canandaigua) decision 6-3
126  Kevin Bouvy (Spencerport) > Paul Bodkins (Alexander) decision 6-0
132  Jeremy Flint (Pavilion) > Sam Lopez (BK) forfeit
138  Dave Powell (Livonia) > Steve Iaculli (Fairport) forfeit
145  Matt Ricci (ER) > William Trigg (FR) decision 5-3
155  Mike Romeo (Spencerport) > Mark Higgins (ER) forfeit
167  Mike Desens (Marion) > Dan Fingler (Fairport) forfeit
177  Pedro Roman (RC) > Chad Washburn (Avon) decision 7-0
215  Brad Halstead (Marion) > Ed Clair (Canisteo) decision 7-4
250  Ben Latten (Wellsville) > John Fairbrother (Avoca) fall 4:36


Comments (NYSPHSAA Section V 47th Annual Wrestling Championships and 26th Annual State Qualifier)